Internationaltheory’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Why I Started To Blog

leave a comment »

Hello All,

My name is Ashley. I live in Miami, but am originally from New York.

Having grown up NYC, a nationality-diverse metropolis, with my mother an immigrant from Bulgaria, I have always been aware that the United States, a beautiful nation none the less, is not the center of the world, and that far to many American citizens share this elitist and ignorant mindset. This blind-sided view point is not only naive, but dangerous. We as God’s creatures (or citizens of this great earth, for those less religiously oriented), owe it to ourselves and each other to be aware of the global community, to share what we believe is right and wrong, and to try to collectively make changes towards a better existence. 

Now, I realize that the previous paragraph may seem super cheezy, and I really don’t want to write a blog full of “save the world” cliches. But the truth is that I’m a twenty-something female, go to work every day, come home to my beautiful apartment which I am fortunate to have, feed my cat 45 cent cans of cat food each morning. I cant help to think that across this planet, there are women my age who cannot provide for their children basic nutrition and food. 

So why blog about it? What does blogging do? How about go and work for a not-for-profit and volunteer abroad or join the peace corps and actually do something? Well, Yea, everyone should step out of their self-absorbed BS lives once in a while and acknowledge that the world is not always a beautiful place, and there are people who struggle throughout their whole lives, solely because of where they were geographically born.  Life extends beyond our mortgages, next promotion, overpriced handbags and credit card debt.

Well, I would like to think that we can all raise awareness of the things in the world that the US media conveniently fails to cover. I would like to join  and  contribute to a community of like minded, socially aware people, who realize that we are all in this together, and we as human being are socially responsible for not forgetting and ignoring those less fortunate than we are. 

Call me a hippie, I am fine with this, because I am terrified to look back on life and see a consumer driven existence, unexamined and unenlightened. 

Written by MiamiFoodie

February 5, 2009 at 2:43 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

